Shooting From A Moving Vehicle – First Try

I wanted to get some great action shots of my Dad’s 38 Ford truck as we drove down the road. My goal was to get that motion effect you see in photos of sports cars and motorcycles where they have the photographer in a lead car snapping shots of the vehicle behind as they wind down some great country road.

So, I crammed my ass into the back of my Mom’s Jimmy, which at 6’3″ was no picnic I’ll tell you, and off we went. The first thing I realized was that this was not going to be as easy as I had thought. It was a pretty rough ride and the camera was all over the place. But, not being one to give up very easily, I got to work.

We made 4 passes or so along the best looking road in my neighborhood where the trees are all golden and the sun was reflecting off the pond. I took around 70 or so photos some from the back of the Jimmy and a handful just regular panning as I stood in the middle of the road during rush hour while my Dad made a couple more passes. I got some very strange looks from people. Especially when I was hanging out the back of the Jimmy!

After looking over the images I found 7 that I was really happy with and was able do some editing to bring out some features.

Here are the results of that shoot.

Dad's 38 Ford Road Shots

Dad's 38 Ford Road Shots

Dad's 38 Ford Road Shots

Dad's 38 Ford Road Shots

Dad's 38 Ford Road Shots

Dad's 38 Ford Road Shots

Dad's 38 Ford Road Shots

 

I had a blast trying this technique out and plan to do it again and again.

 

Chris.

Leave a Reply

